Cannes I Keep Up?

20120618-224715.jpgUntil today, I didn’t fully recognize the magnitude of where I’m at and what I’m experiencing. This week, I am in Cannes, France for the Cannes Lions International Festival of Creativity.

Tonight was the award ceremony for PR, Promo & Direct Advertising. I was in the same room with the people who created these amazing campaigns. Not only that, but I have the chance to connect with these people as well as the presenters for the seminars. The last seminar I went to today was called “Better with the Brand” by Contagious Magazine. The presentation emphasized that advertisers should focus on solving problems for their consumers. It’s not enough to sell them a product. Do more for them. Build a relationship. I loved this presentation, and I’ve been a fan of Contagious since my ADV professor introduced the magazine to my class. As with all of the seminars, I live tweeted the event. @Contagiousmag was tweeting during the seminar and responded to a few of my tweets.

After the seminars, I stopped by the Cannes Connect Happy Hour. Then I heard about the Google Sandbar. Google always goes above and beyond! Always. They had rented a section of the beach and had put up a stage, mini circus tents, a bar and more. This place was fantastic. Daily they will hold 20 min talks, during the day there is a smoothie bar and at night there is a happy hour. The cocktails were amazing. But the drinks were not the best part. I met up with the guys from Contagious including two that I had tweeted with and one of the presenters.

At Cannes, I am surrounded by people who make a living off being creative– coming up with ideas that no ne else has thought of to make sure the company stands out and gets attention. Right now, I feel like a guest. But within the next two years, I will make sure that I not only belong at Cannes Lions, but I have a campaign to submit.

Cannes I keep up? I will!

About Heather Renae Cosson

SU Grad student, PR Practioner & #SocialMedia Strategist who loves singing, cooking, decorating & event planning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

